Home » The Butterfly Lifecycle – Simplified!
Butterflies (Papilionoidea) Butterfly Farming Entomology Larval Host Plants

The Butterfly Lifecycle – Simplified!

The butterfly lifecycle, also known as metamorphosis, involves four stages: egg, caterpillar (larva), chrysalis (pupa), and adult butterfly.

1. Egg

A butterfly starts its life as a tiny egg. The female butterfly lays the egg on its Larval Host Plant, often near or on the type of plant the caterpillar will eat, like Milkweed. The egg is usually very small and can come in various shapes and colors depending on the butterfly species.

Monarch Butterfly egg attached to underside of Milkweed leaf.

2. Caterpillar (larva)

Once the egg hatches, a caterpillar emerges. Caterpillars are the eating and growing stage of a butterfly’s life. They have a long body with multiple segments and usually have a distinct pattern or coloration. The caterpillar’s main job is to eat and store energy for the next stage of its life. They munch on leaves and grow rapidly.

Queen Butterfly munches on their only food source: the Milkweed plant.

3. Chrysalis (pupa)

After the caterpillar has grown enough, it forms a chrysalis or pupa. The chrysalis is a protective case where the caterpillar undergoes a remarkable transformation. Inside the chrysalis, the caterpillar’s body breaks down and rearranges itself into the body of a butterfly. This stage may last from a few days to several weeks, depending on the butterfly species.

Pupa of Gulf Fritillary. Inset photo: Larva at start of chrysalis formation.
Monarch Butterfly chrysalis ready to open.

4. Adult Butterfly

Once the transformation is complete, the chrysalis opens, and an adult butterfly emerges. At first, its wings are crumpled and wet, but they quickly expand and dry out. The adult butterfly has vibrant colors and intricate patterns on its wings. Its primary goals are finding food, reproducing, and continuing the life cycle by laying eggs. Adult butterflies feed on nectar from flowers and use their long straw-like mouthpart, called a proboscis, to sip the nectar.

Proboscis unfurling from a Zebra Longwing adult.

The lifecycle then repeats as the adult butterfly finds a mate, lays eggs on suitable Larval Host Plants, and the process begins again with new generations of eggs, caterpillars, chrysalises, and adult butterflies.

Print & Color me!

In summary, the butterfly lifecycle involves four stages: egg, caterpillar, chrysalis, and adult butterfly. The butterfly starts as an egg, hatches into a caterpillar, transforms inside a chrysalis, and emerges as a beautiful adult butterfly ready to continue the cycle… one day at a time!

Comments are closed.